Merritts Hill Music

Merritts Hill Music

Pacific Concerto for Tuba and Wind Orchestra

I. Rae

Category: Pacific Concerto

Duration: 25' 00"

Play Audio Sample

Price: £65.00

Buy Now

Click to preview this piece (opens PDF file, Adobe Reader or similar required)

This new concerto for tuba was written in memory of the English tuba player and teacher Richard Elliott, who died unexpectedly on July 27th 2014 while on a trainspotting trip in Switzerland.

The work is in a conventional classical three-movement form. The finale contains quotations from some of the dedicatee’s favourite composers, and the numbers 4-6-2 (the “Pacific” wheel arrangement on certain locomotives) can be heard from time to time throughout.

Versions with orchestra and with brass band are also available, as is a piano reduction.