Merritts Hill Music

Merritts Hill Music

Pacific Concerto for Tuba and Brass Band

I. Rae

Category: Pacific Concerto

Duration: 25' 00"

Play Audio Sample

Price: £55.00

Buy Now

Click to preview this piece (opens PDF file, Adobe Reader or similar required)

This new tuba concerto was written in memory of the English tuba player and teacher Richard Elliott, who died unexpectedly on July 27th 2014 while on a trainspotting trip in Switzerland.

The work is in a conventional classical three-movement form. The finale contains quotations from some of the dedicatee’s favourite composers, and the numbers 4-6-2 (the “Pacific” wheel arrangement on certain locomotives) can be heard from time to time throughout.

Extra parts are included for F horns, and for all the lower brass in bass clef. Two scores are included, a traditional one with treble clef trombones, euphs and basses, and one with all the lower brass in bass clef.

There are also versions of the concerto available with orchestra and wind band.