Merritts Hill Music

Merritts Hill Music

Concert de Trompettes

M.-R. Delalande

Category: Brass Band

Duration: 5' 00"

Play Audio Sample

Price: £18.50

Buy Now

Click to preview this piece (opens PDF file, Adobe Reader or similar required)

I. Premier Air - II. Minuets 1 & 2 - III. Air en Écho

Michel-Richard Delalande (who spelled his name as one word although others seem to know better) was the chief of four composers at the court of Louis XIV until his death in 1726. Of necessity he was prolific, as the King liked to be entertained while he dined; hence a large body of work under the heading "Simphonies pour les soupers du Roy". The three movements presented here were for performance on the water. Next time you listen to Händel's Water Music, remember that the French did it first!

Includes parts for F horns and bass clef parts for all the lower brass.