Merritts Hill Music

Merritts Hill Music

Oboe Concerto

A. Corelli

Category: Wind Band  > Classics

Duration: 9' 00"

Play Audio Sample

Price: £60.00

Buy Now

Click to preview this piece (opens PDF file, Adobe Reader or similar required)

This arrangement was commissioned by a band with six oboes! This is why the part is divided into solo and ripieni in the style of the period. Corelli's original concerto was written not as one might imagine for the violin, but for the harpsichord. It is remarkable how well it sounds on winds, the accompaniment displaying twentieth century nostalgia for the baroque. There is no recommended upper limit for the number of oboists!

The audio is of all five movements - Prelude, Allemand, Sarabande, Gavotte and Gigue. The Sarabande is expanded to give the soloists a well-earned rest and to provide a central climax to the suite.