Merritts Hill Music

Merritts Hill Music

The Cunning Little Vixen - Suite

L. Janáček

Category: 10-piece Brass

Duration: 10' 30"

Play Audio Sample

Price: £22.50

Buy Now

Click to preview this piece (opens PDF file, Adobe Reader or similar required)

Příhody lišky Bystroušky - this is hard! The suite that Václav Talich drew from the opera contains most of the music from Act I and is twice as long as this one, which concentrates on the parts that work for brass, while keeping the shape and atmosphere. Janáček's apparent tendency to write the unplayable can look amateurish, but study reveals that he knew exactly what he was doing and we have followed his example. The audio file for this piece is actually quite a good guide to the sound.

(Not available in USA.)