Merritts Hill Music

Merritts Hill Music

Prelude to Act II of Saul and David

C. Nielsen

Category: 10-piece Brass

Duration: 4' 30"

Play Audio Sample

Price: £18.75

Buy Now

Click to preview this piece (opens PDF file, Adobe Reader or similar required)

Carl Nielsen’s opera Saul og David was first performed in 1902 in Copenhagen. Many were enthusiastic, but the critics dismissed it as more of an oratorio than an opera and it has received few performances since. However, the Prelude to the Second Act lives on as a concert piece, invoking the splendour of King Saul’s court. Although the timpani are desirable, this music still makes an impact without them.

The original G piccolo trumpet part is included, as are duplicate parts for soprano cornet, E flat horn, treble clef trombones and E flat or B flat bass.