Merritts Hill Music

Merritts Hill Music

Suite Française

F. Poulenc

Category: 10-piece Brass

Duration: 11' 00"

Play Audio Sample

Price: £20.00

Buy Now

Click to preview this piece (opens PDF file, Adobe Reader or similar required)


Suite Française for Brass

In 1935 Poulenc was commissioned to write music for a play about Henry IV of France, and took inspiration from the dance tunes of Claude Gervaise, treating them less reverently than have Philip Jones and his successors: Stravinsky seems to have been a particular influence.

The seven movements were published soon afterwards in a piano arrangement, although the original score for small wind ensemble did not appear until after the war. Bob Vivian's all-brass version is faithful to the angular lyricism of Poulenc's selections, along with their spiky rhythms and quirky harmonies.

If desired, the 1st and 2nd trumpets and trombones can sit on one side, with the 3rds and 4ths on the other and the horn and tuba in the centre.

Includes duplicate parts for E flat horn, treble clef trombones and E flat or B flat bass.

This arrangement © Éditions Durand - Paris

Used by permission of MGB Hal Leonard s.r.l.