Merritts Hill Music

Merritts Hill Music

Peer Gynt Suite

E. Grieg

Category: 10-piece Brass

Duration: 13' 00"

Play Audio Sample

Price: £22.50

Buy Now

Click to preview this piece (opens PDF file, Adobe Reader or similar required)

This suite has four movements - Morning, Åse's Death, Anitra's Dance and In The Hall Of The Mountain King. The last was written first, the original key of B minor being rejected in favour of one that would be fun. Keeping the tonal relationships between the movements gives C major for Morning which is suitably light and bright, G minor for Åse which is terrifying, F minor for Anitra - an apparently tricky number which however fits the instruments perfectly, and back to G minor for the wild finale!

Includes duplicate parts for soprano cornet, E flat horn, treble clef trombones and E flat or B flat bass.