Merritts Hill Music

Merritts Hill Music

Pacific Concerto (reduction for Tuba & Piano)

I. Rae

Category: Pacific Concerto

Duration: 25' 00"

Play Audio Sample

Price: £8.95

Buy Now

Click to preview this piece (opens PDF file, Adobe Reader or similar required)

This new tuba concerto was written in memory of the English tuba player and teacher Richard Elliott, who died unexpectedly on July 27th 2014 while on a trainspotting trip in Switzerland.

The work is in a conventional classical three-movement form. The finale contains quotations from some of the dedicatee’s favourite composers, and the numbers 4-6-2 (the “Pacific” wheel arrangement on certain locomotives) can be heard from time to time throughout.

The concerto has accompaniments scored for orchestra, wind orchestra and brass band. The audio for this piano edition is brief, illustrating only the sample score pages. Full-length audio is available for the other versions.