Merritts Hill Music

Merritts Hill Music

Three Pieces from Op.12

S. Prokofiev

Category: 10-piece Brass

Duration: 6' 00"

Play Audio Sample

Price: £15.95

Buy Now

Click to preview this piece (opens PDF file, Adobe Reader or similar required)

1. March - 2. Scherzo - 3. Gavotte

Prokofiev produced his Ten Pieces (sometimes called "Episodes") Op.12 in 1913, towards the end of his ten-year course of study at the St Petersburg Conservatory; some seem to have been specially composed while others were adapted from earlier sketches (hence the subtitle "from old notebooks").

Of the three pieces presented here, the March with its relentless tread and casual dissonances could not have been written by anyone else. The Scherzo, subtitled "for four bassoons" and clearly playable that way is equally suited to trombones. The Gavotte is less quirky than the one in the Classical Symphony, but displays a serious devotion to old dance forms (this may have been a composition exercise set by Lyadov).

Parts for Eb Horn and lower brass in treble clef are included.

Reproduced by kind permission of Hal Leonard MGB, Italy