Merritts Hill Music

Merritts Hill Music

The Capture of Kars (Взятие Карса)

M. Mussorgsky

Category: 10-piece Brass

Duration: 5' 45"

Play Audio Sample

Price: £16.95

Buy Now

Click to preview this piece (opens PDF file, Adobe Reader or similar required)

A work with many titles! This comes from the difficulty of translating “torzhestvenniy” which means both solemn and triumphal. Mussorgsky was extraordinarily creative, but he was better at starting things than finishing them so that much of his best-known work was completed by well-wishers, making it hard to discover his original intentions. This arrangement is based on three sources which are all roughly different. The audio is best in the middle section depicting the defeated Turks. The percussion parts from the wind band version are available free on request.

Includes duplicate parts for soprano cornet, E flat horn, treble clef trombones and E flat or B flat bass.