Merritts Hill Music

Merritts Hill Music

Serenade from Hassan

F. Delius

Category: 10-piece Brass

Duration: 2' 30"

Play Audio Sample

Price: £11.95

Buy Now

Click to preview this piece (opens PDF file, Adobe Reader or similar required)

It was his music to James Elroy Flecker's play "Hassan: The Story of Hassan of Baghdad and How he Came to Make the Golden Journey to Samarkand" that finally brought Delius some recognition (and money). To call his work incidental is to belittle it, as it is intrinsic to any production of the drama and was written years in advance of the first staging in London in 1923. In praising the composer, the Times critic complained that in some places the action detracted from the music!

The audio cannot do justice to the sonorities - it's just to remind you how it goes....

Includes duplicate parts for E flat horn, treble clef trombones and E flat or B flat bass.